Countries that don’t need a visa to enter Spain

countries that don't need a visa to enter Spain

Are you planning to travel to the Spanish territory? Then here you will find what you are looking for. Discover the complete list of countries that need a visa to enter Spain, and find out if yours does not. Including an extra step that will come into effect in 2021 and that you should keep in mind!

Before moving to the list with all the countries and nationalities require a visa to enter Spain legally, it will be very important to understand the context.

Applying for a visa means adopting the ability to enter and stay in Spain legally for a maximum of 90 days.

Whether it is to visit a family member, attend a business event, or simply visit the country for tourism, if your nationality requires you to apply for one, it will be important that you do so in order to enter Spain (otherwise you will get rejected at the entry border).

This visa is known as a tourist visa or Schengen visa

It is called a Schengen visa because you are applying to enter a country within this zone, the Schengen Area. And although it is made up of many of the same countries, the Schengen Area is not the same as the European Union.

Nevertheless, Spain is inside both groups. 

Which countries do not require a visa to enter Spain?

Let’s now see the complete list of countries that do not need to apply for a short term visa to enter Spain:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • A.R.Y.M.(Former Yugoslav Republic of
  • Macedonia)
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • South Korea
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Georgia
  • Granada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Nauru
  • Nicaragua
  • New Zealand
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Solomon Islands
  • Samoa
  • Saint Christopher and Nevis
  • San Marino
  • S. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Saint Lucia
  • Holy See
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • East Timor
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela

But be careful!

If you are a citizen of any of these countries, you can enter the Spanish territory without making any formalities at the consulate and without applying for a Schengen visa. However, you are still required to meet certain requirements, such as proof of accommodation or a return flight.

You can find here all the requirements for entry without a visa.

In addition, from 2022, any foreigner who enters Spain without a visa must fill out (online) the ETIAS form.

And here you can find a complete guide with all the information about this certificate.

Do you have any doubts? Get in touch with our immigration lawyers and receive personalized legal advice and all your doubts solved:

Who needs visa to Spain?

On the other hand, we find the countries that do have to apply for a tourist visa to enter Spain. These countries are:

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Algeria
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Belize
  • Benin B
  • Hutan
  • Burma/Myanmar
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Chad
  • China
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • North Korea
  • Ivory Coast
  • Cuba
  • Djibouti
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Philippines
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Lesotho
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Morocco
  • Mauritania
  • Mongolia
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Papua N. Guinea
  • Qatar
  • Central African Republic
  • D. Rep. of the Congo
  • Dominican Republic
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Sto. Tomé
  • Prince
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Syria
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • South Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Swaziland
  • Thailand
  • Tanzania
  • Tajikistan
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • Uganda
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Palestinian Authority
  • Kosovo

Apply for your tourist visa now

In case your country is listed above and you need to apply for a visa to enter Spanish territory, we can make it very easy for you. 

Send us an email by filling out the following form and our team of lawyers will advise you, step by step, on how to get your visa easily

Get in touch with our lawyers and let us guide you step by step:

3.1/5 (10 Reviews)
countries that don't need a visa to enter Spain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

¡Suscríbete a nuestra newsletter! | Subscribe to our newsletter!